Dead Head or Deadhead


Hey Now,
We call ourselves Dead Heads!
Which is correct?
 
Dead Head or Deadhead.
 
Both.
The combination of the two words (Deadhead) is a now accepted misnomer.
I purposely misspelled misnomer to use my spell check feature on my Google tool bar.
It picked up on my misspelling but did nothing with the combined words, Deadhead!
 
Must be acceptable either way.
This is my take on what is and isn’t with the word or words, Deadhead.
In 1971 The Grateful Dead released “Grateful Dead” better known as the Skull and Roses album.
On the sleeve of that album was this:
 
DEAD FREAKS UNITE: Who are you? Where are you? How are you?
Send us your name and address and we’ll keep you informed.
Dead Heads, P.O. Box 1065, San Rafael, CA 94901.  
 
 First of all I like being a Dead Freak better.   But if you look at the address, it’s Dead Heads. This the first known recorded printing of Dead Heads so it must be the correct usage.   Yet Deadheads has through the years has become another acceptable usage.
Which now brings me to the naming of Deadheads United™.
During a philosophical discussion of Dead Head vs Deadhead I derived the name for my blog.  The discussion was preceded by a phatty.   I didn’t want to plagiarize Hank Harrison’s Dead Freaks Unite and I didn’t want to bastardize it to Dead Heads Unite.   In my euphoria, I decided to use Deadheads.  The words Dead & Heads united.  Thus “Deadheads United!”
 “Cosmic Dribble”
or
in
21st century speak,
“Word!”
 Maybe tomorrow, Deadheads United mission statement and why I trademarked, Deadheads United™.
 Peace, Love, Hippie Stuff,
Wayward Bill
Source Material @

About waywardbill

Chairman, United States Marijuana Party
This entry was posted in Grateful Dead, Future & Pasture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

