And The Beat Goes On…


Hello Kidz,
 
Happy
Birthday
2
"Deadheads United!"

 

 

It’s the beginning of my 3rd year in spaces.
 
I would like to say "Thanks All of You,"  who have been faithful friends and readers.  I still wouldn’t be here without the love, support, and camaraderie you have provided the past 2 years.
 
I will be continuing to give you the best in Grateful Dead memories, peace, love, and hippie stuff.  I see it no other way.
 
Looking forward, I see our community maturing and ever expanding.  We have lost a few along the way.  It makes you wonder why they couldn’t hold their own and continue the wonderful connections we make with each other through MSN Spaces.  I miss many of them dearly and hope the best for them.  I also look forward to making new friends here in blogland and beyond…….. 
May the phun never end!
 

 
Peace,
Wayward Bill
(ps:  Penny Plop has nominated me for Space of the Year Award @ Spaces Hall of Fame,  Voting begins April 11th.  If you are feeling froggy and would like to consider my space for Space of the Year your assistance (vote) would be appreciated)
 
Update 04/09/06
 
Well I hope that whether it was Passover or Easter that you surrounded yourself with family & friends.  Nothing like the warmth of home when two thirds of the nation was in the mid 30s temperature wise.  I spent mine by myself, my family lives 1600 miles away and I just really wanted to laze around due to the weather.
 
There are many things going on in the world.  It’s push come to shove with President Bush and the Democrats.  I realize that the troops do need our support both mentally and financially.  However where has the 662 billion dollars gone so far. George Bush is asking for another 100 billion for Iraq and Afghanistan to continue the charade in 2007.  Don’t make sense to me when our schools, health care system and our own infrastructure could use those dollars.  It is now trickling down to the state and local levels with federal cuts to programs for U.S. citizens.  We can not continue this way without these wars sapping us for everything we have, both money and lives.
To top it off the Iraqi infrastructure isn’t where it should be after 4 years, Our tax dollars have been totally squandered by the mega giants like Haliburton and Bechtel.  Where is the electricity, clean water, schools, & hospitals that we promised the Iraqi people????
The current head in the sand politics has to give.
Random thoughts for a Monday.
Peace,
Wayward Bill
 
Pick up the cry stuff….
Dear Wayward,

Already, Darfur activists have planned 195 events nationwide as part of the Global Days for Darfur from April 23rd-30th. Rally participants will come together to call on world leaders to adopt – and enforce – tough sanctions on Sudan until it allows the deployment of an international peacekeeping force to Darfur.

Will you please join us and thousands of committed Darfur activists around the globe in speaking out for the people of Darfur the week of April 23rd – 30th?

Click here to find an event taking place near you and RSVP.

At the web page, locate the "Find an Event" section on the right-hand side of the page, enter your zip code and the distance you’d like to search within, then click "Find Events" to see what will be taking place in your area.

There are many creative events to choose from around the country.

You can be part of a "human chain" in Duluth, attend a concert and rally at the Civic Center Plaza in San Francisco, go to a panel discussion at Auburn University in Alabama, or participate in a "die-in" rally and march in Boston. In addition to these activities in the United States, similar events will be held around the world.

Click here now to find an event in your area and send in your RSVP.

Thank you again for helping to raise awareness that time is up for talk on Darfur. Now more than ever, the people of Darfur need immediate action to end the violence.

With your help, we can work with our government to ensure adequate support for the essential peacekeeping effort in Darfur.

We look forward to seeing you at a Global Days for Darfur event in just a few weeks.

Best regards,

David Rubenstein

The Save Darfur Coalition is an alliance of over 175 faith-based, advocacy and humanitarian organizations whose mission is to raise public awareness about the ongoing genocide in Darfur and to mobilize a unified response to the atrocities that threaten the lives of more than two million people in the Darfur region. To learn more, please visit http://www.SaveDarfur.org.

Dear Wayward.,

As the world’s foremost nuclear power, the United States has a responsibility to lead by example. This means that we cannot reproach Iran for its pursuit of uranium enrichment while we fail to we fulfill our obligations under the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) to begin disarming our nuclear stockpile.

Sadly, it looks like our government is trying to shirk its responsibilities under the NPT and is embarking on a scheme to build NEW Nuclear Weapons. We need to contact our Congressional Representatives and tell them that the United States must set an example of disarmament and nonproliferation for the rest of the world.

A few weeks ago, the Department of Energy announced its plan to build new hydrogen bombs, calling them "reliable replacement warheads." While the majority of Americans are opposed to building new nuclear weapons, the Department of Energy bureaucrats don’t have to listen to public opinion – but Congress does! Send an email to your Representative urging them not to fund the Reliable Replacement Warhead program. Tell Congress to lead by example, until we earn moral authority through disarming our own nuclear stockpile we cannot reasonably make demands on other nations to halt their nuclear programs.

Sincerely,

Kevin M. Martin

Executive Director
Peace Action

Dear William,

Right now Americans are coming together with one voice to demand George W. Bush follow the will of the people and not veto the Democratic plan for change in Iraq.

I’ve spent my entire professional career standing up for our men and women in uniform. I have carefully reviewed and considered the Democrats’ plan for change in Iraq. More than any bill passed by the previous Republican Rubber Stamp Congress, it ensures our troops have the training and equipment they need – and our veterans get the services they deserve.

What it doesn’t do, however, is give George W. Bush a blank check to continue his strategy for failure in Iraq.

We want a New Direction in Iraq and, together, we need to show that the American people support the Democratic plan for change in Iraq. That is why I am joining the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC) in telling the President not to veto the Democratic plan for change in Iraq and to treat our troops with the dignity and respect they deserve.

We have a goal of sending 50,000 signatures to President Bush before April 20th to show our support. Will you join us?

Tell President Bush Not to Veto the Democratic Plan for Change in Iraq

On November 7, 2006, the American people voted for change. They want to see fewer troops in Iraq – not more. I can tell you it’s not only civilians who want a New Direction. Generals on the ground and Pentagon officials know we cannot succeed if we stay the course. The President is increasingly becoming more isolated in his stay-the-course strategy.

The Bush Administration also continues to falsely claim that resources for American troops will begin to run out later this month – despite the fact that the Pentagon and the nonpartisan Congressional Research Service confirm resources will be available well into the summer. Congressional Democrats will never cut off funding to our troops in harm’s way.

Our nation has seen the terrible consequences of President Bush’s failed policy in Iraq. It has made us less secure while costing us close to a trillion dollars. This administration sent our troops into harm’s way without adequate equipment to protect them, and abandoned them when they returned by failing to provide proper health care to treat the wounded.

If President Bush vetoes the Democratic plan, he will be sending yet another signal that his ‘plan’ is simply to continue these failed policies.

I am standing up for the troops and I hope you will too. Join me in telling President Bush you stand with Democrats and insist on a new direction in Iraq.

Tell President Bush Not to Veto the Democratic Plan for Change in Iraq

Thank you,


Wes Clark

Gen. Wesley Clark
Sign The Petition

P.S. George W. Bush is threatening to veto this bill and ignore the will of the American people. All of us need to show him that we are behind the Democratic plan for change in Iraq. For four years he has failed – it’s time for a new direction.

Tell President Bush Not to Veto the Democratic Plan for Change in Iraq

 


Inspirational Phunny
 
A mom was concerned about her kindergarten son
 walking to
 school.
 He didn’t want his mother to walk with him. She
 wanted to give
 him the
 feeling
that he had some independence but know that he was
 safe.

 So she had an idea of how to handle it. She asked a
 neighbor if
 she
 would please follow him to school in the mornings,
 staying at a
 distance, so he probably wouldn’t notice her.

 She said that since she was up early with her
 toddler anyway, it
 would be a
 good
 way for them to get some exercise as well, so she
 agreed.

 The next school day, the neighbor and her little
 girl set out
 following
 behind Timmy
 as he walked to school with another neighbor boy he
 knew.
 She did this for the whole week.

 As the boys walked and chatted, kicking stones and
 twigs,
 Timmy’s little
 friend noticed
 the same lady was following them, as she seemed to
 do every day
 all week.
 Finally, he said to
 Timmy, "Have you noticed that lady following us to
 school all
 week? Do you
 know her?"

 Timmy nonchalantly replied, "Yeah, I know who she
 is."

 The friend said, "Well, who is she?"

 "That’s just Shirley Goodnest," Timmy replied, "and
 her daughter
 Marcy."

 "Shirley Goodnest? Who the heck is she and why is
 she following
 us?"

 "Well," Timmy explained, "every night my Mom makes
 me say the
 23rd Psalm
 with my prayers,
 ‘cuz she worries about me so much. And in the Psalm,
 it says,
 Shirley
 Goodnest and Marcy shall
 follow me all the days of my life’, so I guess I’ll
 just have to
 get used
 to it!"

 The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his
 face to shine
 upon you,
 and be gracious to you;
 the Lord lift His countenance upon you, and give you
 peace.

 May Shirley Goodnest and Marcy be with you today and
 always.

 Be Blessed, Not Stressed!

 

 
(Click below for other fantastic sites)

 

   

60s & Further

     Bravenet.com  Join Me!

    

  

About waywardbill

Chairman, United States Marijuana Party
This entry was posted in Are We Having Fun Yet..... Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And The Beat Goes On…

  1. ♥Xena says:

    Hi Bill,
    Thanks for your first visit at my Guestbook. I appreciate what you had to say.
    But only if you knew the WHOLE STORY then maybe you would understand.
    I have no time to explain nor I want to talk about it…
    Corona Gurl is one true blogger…glad to know you know her too!
    If she has gave me the nod at SHOF…don’t know about it! That’s okay I don’t want to be
    nominated anyway…I have my reasons. Thanks to her then.
     
    *By the way good luck on the SHOF!* you have been nominated.
    On that note wish you a g’day! If you’d like to blog me again then please do so!
    Meantime I will go back to being bitter…thanks for your advice on things!
    I have tolerated enough…
    Vaya con Dios,
    Xena

  2. Shannon says:

    good luck on the award.
     
    It is my b-day soon (17th) I am kind of sad about it too. 2007 has had everything wrong in it 😦

  3. Stepmonster... some call me wicked says:

    Sheesh… all of those blinking lights make me feel like I’ve been to a Phish concert.

  4. Natalie says:

    Hey there Billy bob!
    Great to hear from ya! Good to here you had a enjoyable easter…
    pitty mine wasnt…:( One of my cats died easter morning and i was soooo sad…cried all day…
    *sinff* But i got very very drunk LOL
    Yes, its a pitty there is turmoil again in spaces…I’ve been awol for a while and pretty much havnt been space hoping in a while so i dont know the full extent of it. Which is a good thin lol.
    Anyhoo, i best be off …its getting late and i need my beauty sleep !
    Congratulations on your 2 years of sharing! May this year be one of your best as will be the rest..
    Lots of love ,
    your lil aussie pal xox Nat xox

  5. Nicci says:

    As for SHOF and the never ending "cheating" well … firstly I think many just don’t read the rules… and that is why SHOF is responsible for enforcing such when the chose their winners.  I also think its lame that people are allowed to vote for themselves, but hey that is a choice SHOF allows and in that I to each their own.Personally the only thing that bothers me about SHOF’s monthly nomination and voting is how catty people get over  it all – how insane people get if they aren’t winning and how devious they will become to try to do so and how tattle talley people get as if they believe that SHOF wont take the time to varify votes, this is why they go offline for a day  – to take the time to carefully go through the votes and they delete any votes that don’t count, but still we see people going "BTW this person has nominated a private space" Yeah I think that SHOF will check that before the list the nominees and then in voting well.. that just gets all out war.. and really it is ridiculous, yes if you get nominated – by all means blog it, you should be proud as your peers have nominated you…but I have seen people get angry with people because they haven’t voted one way or another, come on now that is crazy! Hence my whole "Vote from within you and not by the popularity vote" again… to each their own.. but if we are all voting because it is the popular thing to do.. then we cant complain that we continue to see the same faces in the winners circle and in the nomination circle right?
    To me just being nominated has always been enough, I don’t ever believe that I will ever win because, I just don’t pimp myself out to get votes.. I do my one blog that shouts out every nominee and let the votes go where they will – I placed my  strong nomination for one particular spacer and I will in turn place my vote for that person and likely they will even receive a little spotlight because… I TRULY believe this spacer  gets over looked in EVER category she has ever been placed in and in many cases I believe she has and does truly embody these categories… but that is just my opinion right… 
     
    Why people chose to do as they do at SHOF at times is truly beyond me.. and yes even I at one time utilized my additional space to vote – however, that is not something I have done since and honestly I still believe that if a spacer has two very distinctfully different and active spaces that they should both be eligable to place vote I also understand why this rule has been put into place and respect it..I know that for some it is confusing that SHOF changed the voting rules from you must vote for 3 to be valid and now its back to you don’t have to vote for 3 and again this is why we have to hold faith that SHOF enforces their rules when counting votes.
    Anyways, I have truly now just gone on and on and on but I hope I touched base on all the things you noted in your comment to me.. I have always enjoyed Bill that you are open to discussion and share your view on things that are set forth… and that you respect the views of others.Best of luck at SHOF for Space of the Year  I know you will do well.ⓑⓔ ⓣⓡⓤⓔ  ⓣⓞ ⓤ ♥Nicci♥ ☆ ★Time to Show Ur Appreciation & Cast Ur Votes at SHOF☆ ★

  6. Nicci says:

    What do we want out of spaces… just a bunch of prezzies and SHOF awards that come with no substance only popularity? Or do we want a community where people can truly share what they feel, think, see.. open doors to support, humor, friendship across lands we may never see?  Personally, I prefer the later combined with the fun and joy of siggy shares, guestbook prezzies and SHOF awards that don’t come with backhanded compliments from those who lost to others…wouldn’t you?  I know at times I seem "harsh" or that I am being overly opinionated and that is not my intent, I try to post and comment with respect to the blogger, a view of the subject, a suggestion and or a life lesson…if applicable… I do believe strongly that without discussion, debate, variances of opinion our world would be terribly boring… these things are how we learn and grow as humans and as a community, however, currently I am just tired of so much BS from things as simple as a SHOF nomination/vote that leads to arguments  to seeing people intentionally lashing out at others.
    Now to my spelling mistakes well -sorry this pains your brain so much –  (ha-ha) truly though not something I tend to focus on when I visit peoples spaces …more so what they are sharing  (I know your comment not meant to "offend" and really none taken I know I make them) – but at the same time it is true that it can truly impact the message you are trying to send.. in some cases one spelling error, missed word or grammatical mistake can cause a message to be totally misconstrued (keeping in mind some variances between the Canadian and American spellings – though I am sure none applied here)…so I know I should try to be a little more..careful..because I am truly an articulate individual.
    For the most part the amount of time I have to create a blog is minimal, I get my thought going and I roll with it and because I am an image freak, I like to be able to factor that time as well.. though in reality, I should be more careful since in reality since a huge part of my profession is infact editing, but then again I utilize my spell and grammar check … Personally, I think that both those items should be part of the spaces blog toolbar – not and additional feature you must add to your window – I had that at one time and really didn’t like it – not sure why just something about it I didn’t like

  7. Nicci says:

    ..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-¸.·´ .·´¨¨))((¸¸.·´ ..·´ -:¦:-Hey BillThis is a 3 part comment — sorry– the end doubled as wellDropping in via the comment left by you in my Spreading Through Spaces Like A Virus …Blog..thanks for dropping your comments, always nice to hear from you.I am VERY aware that many like to get on a soapbox on many a topic, this is not my way, nor the purpose of my current blog, actually I think sometimes those soapboxes that people get up on are infact part of the issue,not always but sometimes, wouldn’t you agree? The point of my blog was to release my own frustrations with what I am seeing as I stroll through spaces, how disappointing it is to see space after space being deleted. I was and am hoping that in doing so others will take a moment to step back and evaluate what they contribute to spaces and how the fuel or fight situations that arise throughout.  To many people sit idle instead of raising their voice… to many people just share their opinion without asking for others to as well, and or ask others to be part of a solution instead of just more problems. So many are more than willing to point a finger at others but never at themselves,when we are all a part of this community.To voice an opinion is one thing, to open a forum for possible change is another.  If my blog gives just one other person the strength to stand up without bashing, mud slinging, finger pointing then it is worth sharing. If my blog can make a person who has fallen both victim and victimizer to step back and make amends both in themselves and another .. then it is worth it, don’t you agree?

  8. Unknown says:

    The Dragoness is right…more Spaces than ever are being deleted at the urging of someone who has a grudge or is a ‘law abiding jesus freak’. It has reached the critical point

  9. Nicci says:

    Hey luv, just popped back in to snafu your peace symbol for above your name in my little shout out to all nominees.

Leave a comment