ZPG


Hey Now Everyone,
  
Happy
Birthday
2
"Deadheads United!"

  

 

It’s the beginning of my 3rd year in spaces.
 
I would like to say "Thanks All of You,"  who have been faithful friends and readers.  I still wouldn’t be here without the love, support, and camaraderie you have provided the past 2 years.
 
I will be continuing to give you the best in Grateful Dead memories, peace, love, and hippie stuff.  I see it no other way.
 
Looking forward, I see our community maturing and ever expanding.  We have lost a few along the way.  It makes you wonder why they couldn’t hold their own and continue the wonderful connections we make with each other through MSN Spaces.  I miss many of them dearly and hope the best for them.  I also look forward to making new friends here in blogland and beyond…….. 
May the phun never end!
 

  
Peace,
Wayward Bill
(ps:  Penny Plop has nominated me for Space of the Year Award @ Spaces Hall of Fame,  Voting begins April 11th.  If you are feeling froggy and would like to consider my space for Space of the Year your assistance (vote) would be appreciated)

 
 
Zero Population Growth
 ZPG was a revolutionary idea born in late 1960s & the early 1970s. and then became an organization. It’s basic mission was to make people aware that there was a correlation between population growth, the environment and reproductive rights.  To talk about reproductive rights up to that time was unheard of.  America was truly in a transformation. Most American families to this point were fairly large.  ZPG’s idea was to, " Just Have Two." 
But there was more to convincing people to choose smaller families than urging them to "just have two" children. Ensuring that they had access to the means to choose the size of their families was essential to this choice. Historically, until the 1965 Supreme Court decision Griswold v Connecticut, married couples were not guaranteed the right to use contraceptives. Even after that decision, contraceptives continued to be illegal for unmarried people. The Comstock Laws of 1873, which prohibited the dissemination and mailing of contraceptives under federal anti-obscenity legislation, still held. Abortion was illegal in some states. Elective sterilization was almost impossible to obtain. To fight these problems, ZPG joined forces with other organizations such as National Organization for Women, Planned Parenthood of America, the American Civil Liberties Union, and numerous others to convince politicians of the need for change.
Legislative change came relatively quickly. Congress rewrote the federal Comstock laws in 1970, formally removing the obscenity label from contraceptives. Two years later, the Supreme Court released the Eisenstadt v. Baird decision, extending contraceptive rights to the unmarried. In 1973, the critical Roe v. Wade decision legalized abortion and elective sterilization and its companion opinion, Doe v. Bolton, declared policies designed to restrict access to abortion unconstitutional. With the help of such groups as ZPG and with the leadership of "women’s liberation" organizations, the idea of "reproductive rights" was now part of the national discourse. And Politicians starting taking a special interest in population issues.
 
Today there is a definite parallel between populationandthe environment.  We as a species are on the way out the door if we do not change and change quick.  Greenhouse gases, insecticides, pesticides are effecting our quality of life and the life of all creatures large and small.  Our planet can only sustain so much.

As an example there is currently something new happening in the United States that is very frightening.  It is called "Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD)."  It is effecting our agriculture in a big way.  Bees are disappearing at an alarming rate. They are just not returning to their hives. No bees no pollination. 14 billion dollars of United States crops depend on pollination.

I read this morning that there is research in Germany that shows a relationship between bees and cell phones.  Cell signals supposedly confuse the bees and they don’t return to their hives.  To quote one beekeeper, I came to pick up 400 bee colonies and the bees had just flat-out disappeared," Hackenberg said. "There were no dead bees, no bees on the ground, just empty boxes." In almost 50 years as a beekeeper, I’ve never seen anything like it."
CCD has spread throughout 24 states and ruined hundreds of thousands of bee colonies.
 Hackenberg has lost roughly 1,900 of his 2,900 hives. Other operators have lost up to 90 percent of their hives. In these hives, Queens live about 6 years. The life span of workers can vary with the season and ranges from about 6 weeks to several months. The life span of the drone can range from about 14 to 19 days.  With the life spans for the lower bees you can see why there is such an alarm. They are the pollinators.
All this is a direct result of population growth.  Next to greenhouse gases, cell phones are most likely the fastest growing polluter on the planet and it’s microwave pollution. Something you can’t see, smell, or touch. To boot people in underdeveloped countries are the faster growing market for cell technology and they are also the fastest growing populations.
Albert Einstein once predicted that if bees were to disappear, man would follow only a few years later.  Is this to be the human demise!!

All orange entries came from the Population Connection (née ZPG).

Awareness Starts With You,

Wayward Bill

  

Phunday Phunday Phunny
 
They Walk Among Us!

   I walked into a Quizno’s with a buy-one-get-one-free coupon for a
sandwich. I handed it to the girl and she looked over at a little
chalkboard that said "buy one-get one free".
   "They’re already buy-one-get-one-free", she said,"so I guess
they’re both free".  She handed me my free sandwiches and I walkedout
the door.

They walk among us, and many work retail.

===================

   One day I was walking down the beach with some friends when one of
them shouted, "Look at that dead bird!"
   Someone looked up at the sky and said, "Where?"

And they walk among us!

====================

   While looking at a house, my brother asked the real estate agent
which direction was north because, he explained, he didn’t want the sun
waking him up every morning.
   She asked, "Does the sun rise in the north?"
   When my brother explained that the sun rises in the east, and has
for sometime, she shook her head and said, "Oh, I don’t keep up with
that stuff."

They walk among us!!

====================

   I used to work in technical support for a 24/7 call center.  One day
I got a call from an individual who asked what hours the call center
was open. I told him, "The number you dialed is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week."
   He responded, "Is that Eastern or Pacific time?"
   Wanting to end the call quickly, I said, "Uh, Pacific."

They walk among us!

====================

   My sister-in-law has a life-saving tool in her car designed to cut
through a seat belt if she gets trapped. She keeps it in the trunk.

They walk among us!

====================

   My friends and I were on a beer run and noticed that the cas es were
discounted 10%. Since it was a big party, we bought 2 cases.
   The cashier multiplied 2 times 10% and gave us a 20% discount.

They walk among us!

====================

   I couldn’t find my luggage at the airport baggage area, so I went to
the lost luggage office and told the woman there that my bags never
showed up. She smiled and told me not to worry because she was a
trained professional and I was in good hands.
   "Now," she asked me, "has your plane arrivedyet?"

Yes, they walk among us!

====================

   While waiting for my order at a pizza parlor, I observed a man
ordering a small pizza to go.  He appeared to be alone and the cook
asked him if he would like it cut into 4 pieces or 6.
   He thought about it for some time before responding: "Just cut it
into 4 pieces; I don’t think I’m hungry enough to eat 6 pieces."

Yep , they walk among us!

====================

And……. they reproduce!"   

(Click below for other fantastic sites)
 

   

60s & Further

     Bravenet.com  Join Me!

    

   

Blog Badge

 

 

About waywardbill

Chairman, United States Marijuana Party
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ZPG

  1. Abs says:

    LOL>.AND THEY WALK AMONGST US!!!
     
    TOO FUNNY..thanks for the invite ..you have a GREAT space!! :O) WOW, two years huh?  I’m a rookie!! 😛 I must come back and snoop around some more if thats alright with you…I like the vibe..VERY positive!!
     
    GOOD LUCK AT THE SHOF AWARDS!!
     
    Abs

  2. Abs says:

    Oh my!!!
     
    First of all hello….I’m proud and honoured to have you as a new friend..but really sad right now as I spent about twenty minutes in here leaving a nice long comment and the darn computer decided to have me lose what was written…grrrrr….and so, I have to start all over again..:O(
     
    My heart goes out to all affected by the unnecessary deaths on Monday. I had a candle vigil of my own here at home and pray for the friends & family of these victims ( and of course for the deceased )  I am so very far away yet feel tied to it all….
     
    Reading your blog here really got me thinking..as I think a lot on the norm… I could sit all day in deep discussion about all these threats to our mere existence on Earth. Thank you for sharing and not being afraid to speak your mind. I have much respect for those who refuse to allow ignorance to consume their daily lives. Yikes, the Eisntein/bees theory REALLY got me paranoid a few weeks ago..tee hee…well, let’s just say it made me think a whole lot more than usual.
     
    Everything from technology to our food resources has been tampered with or replaced by natural growth and human contact…from jobs being replacedto computers, chickens being mass produced/cloned and pestisides.. The sure outcome and disaters are bound to take place when we mess with mother nature…:O(
     
    Yes my freind, gone are the days where human contact was worth more than a computer screen… love letters have been replaced with e-cards, e-mails or simple point form text messaging…and that’s just a small example…and yes, family too ( as you mention) have gone down in numbers as having a large family today requires too much time, labor and money.
     
    Very sad but true.
     

    What happened in Virginia is a loss for all mankind and humanity. One must always question the motives and look back on HISTORY. Sadly, murder has grown in numbers and wannabe columbine killers are reproducing in vast numbers. There is LOTS to blame…technology, war, racism, religion, but most of all IGNORANCE.
     
    We’ve turned our backs on eachother , family and friends. Society has changed with technology and our youth..we like to claim it hasn’t ..BUT IT HAS.. and we simply don’t give enough of ourselves or find the time to do things we did when computers, video games and television didn’t take up most our lives. Although I dont watch TV..I do spend lots of time on my PC.
     
    OF COURSE it starts at home & the tools we were given in our early days of life..but if mom and dad have problems of their own, both working, or too busy to listen to our youth they have nowhere left to turn or go.. alienate themselves from the REAL world ..hanging out with the wrong crowd..and one day, inevitably that child snaps or makes a bad decision that ultimately changes many lives.
     
    YES IT DOES START AT HOME..and i’m sick of hearing the labels we use to excuse the changes taking place from humans… like mental imbalances, or disorders ..as I see that as just that, an excuse… then again, eating foods that are contaminated with pesticides or artificially grown int odays world could alter the development of our brain….but still, it’s a pathetic excuse….
     
     if we dont watch our children close…ignore the changes in their behaviour, or if they hang around with the wrong crowd while we’re out working or just simply dont care..THEY TOO, STOP CARING …every plant or living thing needs water and talking to..it is good nurturing that this plant grows..and with that they bare fruits …so te me, it starts with OUR roots!!! :O(
     
    We need to LISTEN and TALK to our children..be PART of their lives and provide them the morals, values, love and nurturing needed to have healthy lives….
     
    RACISM < WAR,> IGNORANCE
     
    & THE SEVEN SINS
     
    Lust, sloth, gluttony, pride, greed, envy, wrath
     
     
     tempt us each and every single day..rather than POINTING fingers, we need to UNITE in this CRAZY WORLD & love one another before we too ( like dinosaurs) become extinct….:(i know, silly analogy, but what the  hey!!.. Gosh, I’m sounding like a wacko..but I’m on a roll…and I have so much i want to say and sream out to the world..and so little time..we only live once…and life flashes by within a blink of an eye….
     
     
    Sorry for going off on this wicked rant…but I just see humanity crashing down around us ..and I feel we need to stop poiting the finger at eachother, finding blame and make a difference..that includes being aware of our environment, agricultarily as well as physically for the human race.
     
     Thanks for your time hun..I look forward to getting to know you.
     
    PEACE, LOVE AND AWARENESS..WAYWARD BILL!!!:O)
     
    TC & TTYS
    Abs
     
     
     
     

  3. Abs says:

    Gosh Bill..LOL..I should have made this  comment an entry for my blog!! 😛

Leave a comment